Evesham & District Wheelers Cycling Club

Annual General Meeting

Tuesday 21stNovember 2017 20:00hrs

Wickhamford Village Hall


Chairman’s Welcome:

Steve Bullen welcomed everyone to the 2017 AGM.

There were 33 members in attendance, including the committee.



John James, Martin Trippick and Andy Dickinson.


The President’s address:

Carol Hall’s report was read out.


Minutes of AGM 2016:

With no matters arising, the minutes of the 2016 AGM were accepted by all members present.

Proposed by Steve Bullen Seconded by John Jenkins


Officers’ reports:

All Club officers’ reports were read out and accepted by all.




Election of Officers for 2018:

All committee members stood down.

All positions were then proposed and seconded. The following members will serve for the coming year.


Vice Presidents:Anton Newell, John Percival, Valerie Taylor, Roger Freeman, Clive Tree.


President:Carol Hall


Chairman:Steve Bullen

Proposed Will Coxwell, seconded Tim Davis


Secretary: Fiona Layzell-Williams

Proposed Keith Beasley, seconded Carol Hall


Treasurer:Martin Halls

Proposed Steve Bullen, seconded John Jenkins


Membership Secretary:John Jenkins

Proposed Steve Tarring, seconded Fiona Layzell-Williams


Club Runs Officer:Mark Williams

Proposed Steve Bullen, seconded Liz Coxwell



Road Race Secretary:Kevin Drain

Proposed Andrew Tarring, seconded Norman Smith


Assistants to Road Race Secretary:Andrew Tarring & Norman Smith


Time Trial Secretary:Position vacant


Audax Secretary:Neil Robinson

Proposed Tim Davis, seconded Will Coxwell


Press Secretary:Position vacant


Clothing Manager:Mike Sampson

Proposed John Jenkins, seconded Andy Bolton


Social Secretaries:Keith Beasley & Fiona Layzell-Williams

Proposed Carol Hall, seconded Steve Bullen


Website Editor:Steve Bullen

Proposed Norman Smith, seconded John Jenkins


Appointment of Auditor:

Margaret Colborne is happy to continue.

Proposed Martin Halls, seconded Steve Bullen


Events for 2018:

  • Steve Bullen will organise another Dieppe trip.
  • Neil Robinson will be developing the Audax rides.
  • Steve Tarling will organise cycle jumbles with new dates and venues.
  • Mark Williams is planning to organise an off-highway session where Club members can practice precision riding in a safe environment.
  • Keith Beasley is planning to do The Tour of Flanders and will keep members informed.


Steve Bullen will do regular weekly EW briefs during 2018 to include elements of ride etiquette.

Ride etiquette advice will also be given by ride leaders and should be accepted in the manner that it is given.



Club Charities:

Following the 2016 AGM the committee decided that the charities we would support in 2017 should be the Alzheimer’s Society and local dementia support groups.

Monies raised by the audax and cycle jumble will be presented to the Alzheimer’s Society, Young Onset Dementia Connection Point, and Dementia Action Alliance Evesham.

It was suggested that our charity for 2018 could be the British Heart Foundation. There was a unanimous decision for the committee members to choose the charities for 2018.


The next Club night will be Monday 4thDecember 2017 at 8pm, Steve Bullen’s house.


Recorded by Fiona Layzell-Williams